S.A. Astatine

S.A. Astatine is the study association for open-minded engineers.

S.A. Astatine

S.A. Astatine is the study association for Advanced Technology and Nanotechnology students. We are an international, non-profit association that caters to the needs of her members. We do this by organizing educational and fun activities.

For more information about our association, click on one of the categories below


The 14th board of S.A. Astatine

Since the 6th of September, we have a new board. The following people have been charged as board:

Rik Seelen - Chairman

Jons Bolding- Secretary

Bram Schotpoort - Treasurer

Laura Rodriguez Comas - Commissioner of Educational Affairs

Laura Berkhof - Commissioner of External Affairs

Ralph Brantjes - Commissioner of Internal Affairs

Happy Summer Break

The 13th board would like to wish everyone a happy summer break. We would like to thank everybody for an amazing year and would hopefully see you back on the 3rd of September!summer-break-slide.jpg

Tecnotion Scholarship

Tecnotion is a big player in the drive-motor technology, they are specialized in the production and development of motors with direct drive. Innovation is one of their biggest points in the company because of this they want to get to know young talent and help young talent during their studies. They want to achieve this with the help of a Tecnotion Scholarship, for first years UT-master students. For more information click here (text is in Dutch)


The Candidate Board of S.A. Astatine.

Yesterday, on the 16th of May, the yearly announcement BBQ for the Candidate Board was held. With the following division:

Rik Seelen - Chairman
Jons Bolding - Secretary
Bram Schotpoort - Treasurer
Laura Rodriguez Comas - Educational Affairs
Laura Berkhof - External Relations
Ralph Brantjes - Internal Affairs


Symposium Autonomous Systems

On the 25th of April, the symposium of Astatine about Autonomous System took place in Waaier 3. To kick off the day, Geert Folkertsma gave an introduction about the subject, after which Nicolò Botteghi talked about a pipe cleaning robot, PIRATE, and how to make it autonomous. Owen King followed by talking about ethics, with room for a discussion afterwards. Afterwards, a nice lunch made sure that everyone could recover a little and prepare for one of the two workshops. During the workshop by Sioux, participants were challenged to design a robot that can clean solar panels. Clear Flight Solutions had a workshop about their Robird, and what the issues could be with making it autonomous. After a few closing words by Geert, the day ended in the TAP, where participants could discuss the day with the added enjoyment of a drink. 


Image Not Found.


Winner educational award 2017-2018: dr. Peter Dickinson

The winner of the educational award of 2017-2018 has been announced on the 23rd of March. From the selected candidates, we are proud to announce that dr. Peter Dickinson is this year's winner!

The first excursion of the year

On the 16th of September Astatine had its first excursion of the academic year. This time it was to Thales, where the members got to see the Thales compound, job opportunities and of course have a lot of fun!

Constitution of the 13th board

During the 34th General Assembly the 12th board has been discharged and the 13th board has been charged.

The ideabox

Do you have a suggestion or a great idea to improve Astatine? Send your ideas to thebox@astatine.utwente.nl


If you want to unsubscribe from Astatine, you have to do so before the 1st of August. This is done by sending an email to board@astatine.utwente.nl.

For more info about our studies go to:

Advanced Technology
Nano Technology